Egesa, Kawuma crowned champions of the inagural SOM Easter Open Championships

Emmanuel Egesa and Kawuma Patricia were crowned winners of the inagural SOM Easter Open Championships after emerging the best in the finals held on Monday 1st April at the Sports Outreach Ministries (SOM) Chess Academy in Katwe, Makindye.

Emmanuel Egesa was crowned the overal champion of the inagural SOM Easter Open Chess Championships after defeating Fide Masters Kauma Patrick and and Nsubuga Haruna to clinch Gold in the open category.

Egesa expressed his excitment after walking home with a token on Ugx 1M cash prize, a gold medal and a trophy.

“I am so grateful to having won this champiomship, i thank the almighty God because it hasn’t been easy but i have managed to win despite the challenges as i have faced a couple of experienced players who put up a great challenge to me.” Said Emmanuel Egesa.

“This championship has helped me alot to increase on my rating points as i target to reach the ranks of a FIDE Master. I would like to thank the organisers especially Mr. Katende for such a great initiative.” He added.

Egesa managed to collect a total of 7 points and a rating of 1990.

Patricia Kawuma, a senior Five student at Pride College, Mpigi won the Land mark event’s Best Female Category with 7 points and a Rtg of 1764.

Patricia Kawuma in action

The teenager walked away with a gold medal, a trophy and a cash prize of One Million Ugandan Shillings.

Having attracted over 150 participants, the management pf Sports Outreach Ministries iis eager to have Easter open chess tournament happen every year.

“This has been our first edition of the Easter Open Chess tournament but our main objective is to have the championship happen every year as we forward to use chess in sourcing education opportinities to our children at all our outreach ministries in the country.” Said Robert Katende the founder and proprietor of SOM Academies in the country.

With a total prize pool exceeding 10 million Ugandan shillings (including additional prizes in form of trophies and medals), that was communicated earlier, all was given out evenly to the respective winners.


Best Junior Player

Muhebwa Shafik
Kasozi Jovan
Ssendijja Gerald
Best Differently Abled Player

Mbaziira Wasswa Sharif
Ciza Maxime
Seguya Enock
Best 550

Kaamu Joseph
Kikabi Jeffrey
Ssenyomo George William
Best U1600 ELO

Baguma Innocent
Ssendijja Gérald
Wasswa Joseph
Best U1900 ELO

Musoke Emmanuel
Were Samuel
Byaruhanga Jonah

Best Female

Kawuma Patricia
Takali Milly
Ampaire Shakira

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *