Skating: Uganda off to Kenya for the Eldoret Speed Skating Championships

The National Council of Sports (NCS) officially flagged off team Ugand to represent the nation at the Eldoret Speed Skating Championships.

A team of 23 atheletes consisting of both the juniors category of 17 skaters  and senior category of 6 skaters will represent the nation in Kenya after being flagged off  with consent letters from the parents of the junior skaters.

The flag off ceremony happened at the NCS offices in lugogo on Friday 1st December as Sarah Chelengat the administrator urging all the atheletes to keep maximum discipline as they raise the national flag high.

“After recieving officiall conset from the patents of the atheletes, we as NCS we now happy to flag off the Ugandan team to kenya and we would like to wish the team  success in the Eldoret Speed SkatingChampionship,” said Sarah Chelengat.

“If you are out there, you are lifting the Ugandan flag so I urge you to maintain discipline at all times but as an athete, you have to believe in yourself as you respext and follow the advice from your coaches.” She added

Kyazze Muhammad a parent who is also travelling with the team expressed his delight as he appreciated the NCS guidance in sending the young children to international championships.

“We are so delighted for the help and guidance from NCS which has helped us as parents to send our children in this competition with the assurance of theor safety after several engagements with the Council.” Said Kyazze Muhammad a parent representative on the team.

The team captain Himran Sserumagga has promised to guide his team to victory in Eldoret Speed Skating Championships.

“We have managed to assemble a team of champions, we are going to Kenya to compete for silverware and not to just participate. The last time we managed to win two gold medals from Kenya but thos time round we are bringing more. Said the team captain Himran Sserumagga.

Here is the travelling contigent;


Kizza Ntanzi Husnah, Kiggundu Shakir, Abdul Aliku, Kiggindu Shan, Sseruyange Hatim, Mwesigwa Elijah, Yiga Ramathan, Kiweewa Awadalah, Atatiru Halimah, Katamba Christian Freedom, Mugaga Yusuf, Bamuze Ali, Draru Shamim, Anyango Myra Maria, Serumagga Himran, Mubarak Rashid, Jukiraa Janat, Amenton Michelle, Igga Surait, Ismael Mudathiru, Kateregga Imran, Waninga David, Temi Asraf Ally.


  1. Babirye Sharifah
  2. Kayiwa Muhammad
  3. Kibirige Sauda
  4. Katamba Isma


  1. Rashid Kiberu
  2. Fatuma Bombo Saidi

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *