Victoria Pearls Off For Kwibuka T20

The Victoria Pearls’ quest for a first Kwibuka Women’s T20 trophy since 2016 officially begins today after the side was flagged off to Rwanda for the annual event.

Uganda were the inaugural winners of this event when they won it in 2014, but they have not tasted it’s success since 2016 (their second time) despite taking part in all editions.

They head into this edition as the team on form following their triumphs in Namibia and Uganda where they won the Capricorn Eagles Quadrangular Series and the Victoria Series respectively in April.

They will back themselves to best everyone in Rwanda despite the changes made to the team. From the aforementioned winning teams, Gloria Obukor, Sarah Akiteng and Esther Iloku didn’t make the Rwanda trip.

The trio was replaced by youngsters Jimia Mohammed, Lorna Anyait and Malisa Ariokot.

This edition will have four other nations including Rwanda, Nigeria, Botswana, and Kenya take part, but by press time, record winners Kenya had not yet travelled.

The event will run between June 8 to June 18, and it will be played on a single round robin with the top two sides meeting in the final.

Uganda will play it’s first game on Saturday 10th June against Kenya at the Gahanga Cricket Ground.

The traveling team.

Consy Aweko (Captain), Janet Mbabazi, Phiona Khulume, Kevin Awino, Irene Alumo, Proscovia Alako, Patricia Malemikia, Immaculate Nakisuyi, Stephanie Nampiina, Evelyn Anyipo, Rita Musamali, Malisa Ariokot, Lorna Anyait, Jimia Mohammad.

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *