Editor's Picks

Uganda Cranes Final Squad to Face Algeria Named – 19 Dropped

Coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredejovic has named the final Uganda Cranes squad that will face Algeria in AFCON Qualifiers in Cameroon.

Nineteen (19) players have been dropped from the initial Uganda Cranes 42-man squad that was initially summoned.

These include five foreign-based players including South African based goalkeeper Ismail Watenga.

The other four foreign-based players who have been training with the team are Moses Opondo (Horsens) and Musa Ramathan (MFK Vyskov), Ibrahim Juma (CD Leganes) and Allan Enyou (CD Leganes).

Four players from Vipers – Hillary Mukundane, Ashraf Mandela, Isa Mubiru and Bright Anukani – have not made the cut despite helping their team win a double this season.

Creative midfielder Bright Anukani is also a surprise exclusion, alongside his former KCCA teammate Saidi Mayanja.

Gaddafi goalkeeper Joel Mutakubwa, James Begisa (URA), Derrick Ndahiro (URA), George Kasonko (BUL), Rogers Mugisha (UPDF), Shariph Kimbowa (Wakiso Giants) and Charles Bbaale (SC Villa) have also been left out.

In Cameroon, the team will play a friendly game against Democratic Republic of Congo on Wednesday, 14th June. This will serve as a precursor for the game against Algeria.

Full Squad

Salim Omar Magoola (Richards Bay FC, South Africa), Charles Lukwago (St. George FC, Ethiopia), Nafian Alionzi (URA FC, Uganda)

Kenneth Semakula (SC Villa, Uganda), Gavin Kizito (Al Ittihad SC, Egypt), Abdu Azizi Kayondo (CD Leganes, Spain), Joseph Ochaya (Al Makwloon Al Arab, Egypt), Halid Lwaliwa (FK Bregalnica, North Macedonia), Gift Fred (SC Villa, Uganda), Geofrey Wasswa (KCCA FC, Uganda), Rogers Torach (Vipers SC, Uganda)

Khalid Aucho (Yanga SC, Tanzania), Bobosi Byaruganga (FC Austin, USA), Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC, Uganda), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC, Uganda), Isma Mugulusi (Makedonikos FC, Greece)

Milton Karisa (Vipers SC, Uganda), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa, Uganda), Rogers Mato (KCCA FC, Uganda), Faruku Miya (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Emmanuel Okwi (Erbil SC, Iraq), Fahad Bayo (MFK Vyškov, Czech Republic), Richard Basangwa (Wadi Degla SC, Egypt)

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *