Cricket: Victoria Pearls flagged off to Kwibuka Series

Uganda National Women Cricket Team, the Victoria Pearls, have been officially been flagged off to Rwanda where they will take part in the Kwibuka Women T20 series.

The 9th edition of the Kwibuka T20 tournament is slated to take place from 

The Ladies go Rwanda with three rookies under 19years who have been awarded a chance to showcase their skills at the national level after putting up a wonderful performance in the schools week.

The young players are Lorna Anyait, Malisa Ariokot who are debuting on the senior side whereas Jimia Mohammed whoade her debut at the senior side last year coming back to the national team fold.

Malisa Ariokot

Victoria Pearls have managed to come out victorious at the Kwibuka Series on two separate occasions and they will be eager to fight for the third title, they won in 2014 and 2016.

The team under head coach Lawrence Ssematimba look to be a bit well prepared having had a busy start of they winning two trophies, the Victoria Series organised in Uganda and the Capricorn Eagles Series they won in Namibia.

Consy Aweko will captain the side to Rwanda in the tournament which will run from the 8th June to the 18th as it will be played on a single round robin format at Gahanga Cricket Oval and the IPRC grounds.

Here is the full traveling contingent:

Victoria Pearls squad

Consy Aweko (c), Jannet Mbabazi, Phionah Khulume, Kevin Awino, Irene Alumo, Proscovia Alako, Patricia Malemikia, Immaculate Nakisuyi, Stephanie Nampiina, Evelyn Anyipo, Rita Musamali, Malisa Ariokot, Lorna Anyait, Jimia Mohammed


Lawrence Ssematimba – Head Coach

Lawrence Ssempijja – Assistant Coach

Tugume Imam – Physiotherapist

Edgar Kazibwe – Psychologist

Deus Muhumuza – Analyst

Dennis Musaali – Media Attache

Mary Nankinga – Team Manager 

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *