Masaza Cup

Busoga Masaza Cup: 6th Edition Kickoff dates and fixtures revealed

The organising committee of the Busoga Masaza Cup officially announced the kickoff dates and fixtures of the 6th edition of the tournament.

This was revealed by the sports minister in the Busoga Kingdom Owe’kitiibwa Amin Bbossa Nkono on Tuesday morning with defending champions Bunhole Bunanumba hosting neighbors Bunha on 8th July in Bwondha.

Owe’kitiibwa Amin Bbossa Nkono

“This year’s edition of the Busoga Masaza cup will kick off on 8th July  with Bunhole Bunanumba taking on Bunha and we are expecting his royal highness William Wilberforce Nadiope to grace the occasion.”

The minister also introduced a new sponsorship package worth UGX 90 million from Haojue

“I am also happy to inform you that we have a new sponsor on board to add on MTN Uganda and Mayuge Sugar Industries Limited,  Haojue who will reward the tournament’s top scorer with a brand new motorcycle and they will also offer branded travel kits for each of the 14 chiefdoms.”

Busoga Masaza Cup organizing committee chairman Isa Magoola Kakaire revealed the adjustments in some rules of the competition

Organising Committee Chairman Issa Magoola in glasses 📸 Busoga Media

“We have agreed on some changes with immediate effect, active players in the first and second division league will still not be eligible but even those who once featured in any of the above divisions will not be allowed.”

“Each chiefdom will also be required to register at least five players who are 18 years and below in their 25 man squad. No chiefdom will be approved to participate if they don’t comply with the above. And finally each chiefdom is to avail two venues as proposed home grounds for inspection, then our technical team will approve the most suitable.”

Teams have been grouped in four groups namely Kagulu, Mawembe, Bukowe and Nendha group. The four teams that reached the semi finals in the previous edition where seeded in different pots and the rest were drawn to each of the four groups. 

Defending champions Bukooli Namayingo are in Nendha group alongside Budiope, Bunha and Bunhole Bunanumba while last year’s first runners Kigulu find themselves with Bulamogi Bukono and Bugweri in Bukowe group.




2. Bulamogi

3. Bukono 

4. Bugweri 


1. Bukooli Namayingo

2. Budiope

3. Bunha 

4. Bunhole Bunanumba 


1. Butembe 

2. Bukooli Bugiri

3. Buzaya


1. Bugabula

2. Busiki

3. Luuka


Bunhole Bunanumba vs Bunha

Kigulu vs Bulamogi

Bugweri vs Bukono

Bukooli vs Budiope 

Butembe vs Bukooli Bugiri

Bugabula vs Busiki


2016: Bukooli Bugiri

2017: Butembe

2018: Kigulu

2019: Kigulu

2022: Bukooli Namayingo

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *