USSSA Rugby: Participating Schools Confirmed

With just a few days to kick-off, ten boys’ teams and seven girls’ teams from across the country have confirmed their participation in the long awaited 2023 National Secondary School Rugby tournament.

The games will be played at the Katatumba Academy pitch in Mbarara and will kick off on May 7th, running until May 14th.

Namilyango College will go into this year’s tournament as defending champions having defeated Kings College Buddo 15-9 in the 2022 campaign final held in Gulu.

The 2022 campaign also saw, for the very first time, a girls’ national rugby championship.

Eight girls’ schools teams qualified for the tournament but only two made it for the final competition- Entebbe Airforce S.S and St. Catherine Girls S.S.

A three-series face off between the two sides was arranged. St Catherine SS won one serie while Entebbe Airforce won twice to claim the first ever girls school rugby championship.

Unlike other sports categories which will be played on Pool-knockout basis, the rugby competition will be played in round robin format, requiring each team to meet every other team in the competition.

The Fresh Dairy Rugby Schools tournament is also a pathway for the participating teams to qualify and feature in the East African Schools’ Rugby tournament.

The confirmed boys’ participating teams:

1.Ntare school

  1. Katatumba academy
  2. Mbarara high
  3. Kiira college
  4. Masaba SS
  5. St. Mary’s College Kisubi
  6. Makerere college
  7. Kings College budo
  8. Namilyango college
  9. Sir Samuel Baker school

The confirmed boys’ participating teams:

  1. St Catherine girls SS
  2. Nkoma SS
  3. St Jude SS
  4. Kijjabwemi SS
  5. Kitala SS
  6. Airforce SS
  7. Kako SS

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *