Editor's Picks

Uganda Vs Algeria: Micho Names Provisional Squad

Group F Table

  1. Algeria πŸ‡©πŸ‡Ώ(Q) – 12pts
  2. Uganda πŸ‡ΊπŸ‡¬ – 4
  3. Tanzania πŸ‡ΉπŸ‡Ώ – 4
  4. Niger πŸ‡³πŸ‡ͺ – 2

Uganda Cranes coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojovich has named the provisional squad for AFCON Qualifiers match against Algeria.

The provisional squad of 42 players is a blend of local and foreign-based players.

The Cranes will play Algeria on June 18th, 2023 in the penultimate Group F game before ending ending the game with an away fixture against Niger.

This is a must win for the Cranes who are joint second, level on four points with Tanzania.

The squad has five goalkeeper including first choice Salim Jamal of Richards Bay (South Africa) while Ismail Watenga makes a return.

Experienced players like Farouk Miya, Khalid Aucho and Emmanuel Okwi have made the cut.

Moses Opondo is another returnee while youngster Allan Enyou earns his debut call.

But there is no place for Steven Mukwala among the foreign based players while on the local scene, Allan Kayiwa and Simon Tamale have been left out despite their good displays in the local league.

Hosting away from home is a big blow for the Cranes after it was revealed earlier that Namboole will not be ready.

And a win looked like it was within reach if the Cranes were playing at a fully packed Namboole.

But playing Algeria, an African powerhouse, away from home, will prove a huge mountain to climb for the Cranes.

The Cranes have collected just a point in their two β€˜home’ games in this group – a draw against Niger (Kitende) and a 1-0 loss against Tanzania (Egypt).

The Uganda Cranes Squad

Goalkeepers – Salim Jamal Magoola (Richards Bay), Charles Lukwago (St George), Isma Watenga (Marumo Gallants), Alionzi Nafian (URA), Joel Mutakubwa (Gaddafi)

Defenders – Gavin Kizito (Al Ittihad), James Begisa (URA), Ashraf Mandela (Vipers), Kenneth Ssemakula (SC Villa), Aziz Kayondo (CD Leganes), Ibrahim Juma (CD Leganes), Umar Lutalo (SC Villa), Derrick Ndahiro (URA), Isa Mubiru (Vipers), Halid Lwaliwa (Bregalnica), Musa Ramathan (MFK Vyskov), Allan Enyou (CD Leganes), Rogers Torach (Vipers), Hillary Mukundane (Vipers), Gift Fred (SC Villa), Geoffrey Wasswa (KCCA)

Midfielders – Siraje Sentamu (Vipers), George Kasonko (BUL), Said Mayanja (KCCA), Bobosi Byaruhanga (FC Austin), Khalid Aucho (Yanga), Bright Anukani (Vipers), Moses Waiswa (KCCA), Allan Okello (KCCA), Farouk Miya (Caykur Rizespor), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Moses Opondo (Horsens), Isma Mugulusi (Makedonikos), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Joseph Ochaya (Al Makwloon)

Forwards – Rogers Mato (KCCA), Rogers Mugisha (UPDF), Shariph Kimbowa (Wakiso Giants), Emmanuel Okwi (Erbil), Richard Basangwa (Wadi Degla), Fahad Bayo (MFK Vyskov), Charles Bbaale (SC Villa)

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *