Uganda To Host ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers

The local cricket governing body, Uganda Cricket Association have confirmed Uganda will host the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers due in December.

The tournament will have eight teams including Namibia, Nigeria, Tanzania, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, hosts Uganda and two teams that will qualify from Div. 2 Qualifiers set to take place in October in Botswana compete and Uganda has be awarded the hosting rights.

In a press release distributed by the Association, Operations Manager Joshua Mwanja expressed their delight to host the event.

“We are excited to host the T20 Women’s Qualifiers; this shows the faith that ICC has in our capacity to host an event of this magnitude.

“The work for us starts immediately to prepare the grounds and also ensure we get local partners to come on board and support us.

“Last year we did well hosting the Challenge B tournament therefore we commit to giving local cricket fans a good experience this time around.”

The top two teams from this event will proceed to the Global Qualifiers as African representatives.

The last time Uganda featured at this stage, they qualified for the Globals that were hosted by Netherlands in 2018.

The ultimate goal is qualifying for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup set to happen in Bangladesh next year.

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *