Editor's Picks

Kitende Edge Kitovu to Win Record Equaling Title

Saturday, May 20
Amus College 2-4 Royal Giants Mityana (Third place playoff)

St Henry’s College Kitovu (Masaka) 0-1 St Mary’s SS Kitende (Wakiso) (Final)

Individual Awards:
*MVP- Allan Oyirwoth (AMUS College)
*Top Scorer – Abdul Nsereko – (SMASK)
*Best Goal keeper – Kamya Shamuran (Royal Giants)

St Mary’s SS Kitende (SMASK) are the champions of the National Schools Football Championships after holding on to a 1-0 victory over St Henry’s College Kitovu at the Nyakasura Ground in Fort Portal.

Kitende drew the first blood in the 24th minute through Oloya Habib, after Nsereko Abdul header from Justine Opiro long throw-in hit his back to get past the Goalkeeper at the near post.

However, the goal was credited to Nsereko and it sealed the title for the defending champions.

Kitende came into the championship as defending champions after a 2-0 triumph over St Andrews SS Gombe at the Barifa Ground in Arua last year.

This is their 11th title, Lawrence Mulindwa owned school previously won it in 2020, 2019, 2015, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2008, 2007, 2006 and 2004.

Kitovu who were making their maiden appearance in the final hardly threatened the Goalkeeper However, they were twice denied by the Custodian with a diving save for their only attempts on target as they tried to draw level.

SMASK, SHACK, Royal Giants will represent Uganda in the East Africa games while Kibuli SS will go as the defending champions.

Line Ups

SMASK XI: Allan Batali (GK), Justine Opiro, Derrick Kato, Simon Mukisa, Ronald Madoi, Frank Katongole, Abubaker Walusimbi, Samuel Lukoye, Patrick Ssekyanzi, Habib Oloya, Abdul Nsereko.

SUBS: Rwatib Gulanyago, Hakim Mutebi, Derrick Kaija, Keneth Luguya, Marvin Mukiibi, Nyarwa Olimi, Fred Muhanguzi.

SHACK XI: Marvin Ssebirago (GK), Collins Ocatre, Ronald Mutasiga, Paul Mulindwa, Khalid Izale, Innocent Kisolo, Denish Dramuke, Godfrey Ssekibengo, Reagan Ssekisambu, Jonathan Bugembe, Lawrence Walakira.

SUBS: Marvin Lubega, Jalidine Njagala, Shakib Kalema, Alfred Ejoyi, Samuel Okullo, Ashiraf Kibungo.

Past Winners

2023: St Mary’s Kitende (Fort Portal)
2022: St Mary’s Kitende (Arua)
2021: COVID-19
2020: COVID-19
2019: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Jinja, Jinja College)
2018: Buddo S.S (Host: Mbarara, Mbarara High)
2017: Jinja S.S (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS)
2016: Kibuli SS (Host: Soroti, Teso College Aloet)
2015: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Hoima, Duhaga S.S)
2014: Kibuli SS (Host: Gulu, St Joseph College, Layibi)
2013: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Kabale, Kigezi College)
2012: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Tororo, Rock High School)
2011: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Arua, Mvara S.S)
2010: Bishop Nankyama (Masaka, St Henry’s Kitovu)
2009: Buddo S.S (Fort Portal, St Leo’s Kyegobe)
2008: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Arua, Mvara SS) *Started as Copa Coca Cola Cup
2007: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Jinja, Jinja S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
2006: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Masindi, Kabalega SS) *Coca Cola Cup
2005: Kibuli S.S (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS) *Coca Cola
2004: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Mbarara – Ntare School) *Coca Cola Cup
2003: Old Kampala (Host: Lira, Lango College) *Coca Cola Cup
2002: Nagalama Islamic (Host: Soroti, Teso College, Aloet) * Coca Cola Cup
2001: Ngabo Academy (Host: Kabale, Kabale S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
2000: Kibuli (Host: Mbale, Mbale S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1999: Old Kampala (Host: Masindi, Kabalega S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1998: Kibuli (Host: Jinja, Jinja S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1997: St Leo’s Kyegobe (Host: Mbarara, Mbarara High) *Coca Cola Cup
1996: Kibuli (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS) *Started as Coca Cola Cup
1995: Kibuli (Host: Mbale, Mbale SS) *NPP Cup
1994: Lubiri S.S (Host: Lira, Lango College) *NPP Cup
1993: Kibuli S.S (Host: Mbarara, Ntare School) *NPP Cup
1992: Kibuli SS (Host: Kampala, Kibuli SS) * UTV Cup
1991: Kibuli S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1990: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1989: Kibuli S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1988: Kololo (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1987: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1986: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *