Kitara Crowned Big League Champions

Thursday, May 18
*Kitara 1-0 Kaaro Karungi
*Mbarara City 3-0 Northern Gateway
*Uganda Police 1-1 Jinja North
*Kataka 1-4 NEC FC
*Luweero United 0-0 Adjumani Town Council
*Ndejje University 1-0 Booma FC
*Kyetume 4-2 Soroti City
*Calvary FC 1-3 Lugazi

Kitara FC are the FUFA Big League champions after a 1-0 home victory over Kaaro Karungi at the Kigaaya playground.

Paul Mucureezi scored the all important goal from the spot to guide his side to the crown.

They beat off competition from Mbarara City who were also 3-0 winners over relegated Northern Gateway at Kakyeka stadium as the FUFA Big League 2022/2023 came to an end.

They clinched the trophy with just a point above second placed Mbarara City who finished the season on 60 points.

The Royals were promoted to the Startimes Uganda Premier League last week on Thursday after a 3-0 away to relegated Adjumani TC at the Paridi Playground.

Mbarara City who also sealed their promotion to the top flight needed Kitara FC to either draw or lose the game but Kaaro Karungi didn’t afford them any favour.

The deciding moment came in the 37th minute when Mucureezi broke the deadlock from the penalty to send the home crowd into jubilation.

That was the only goal of the game despite the hosts creating a number of chances.

Sam Simbwa coached side finished the season with 61 points after 30 matches with 17 wins, 10 draws and three defeats after scoring league high 60 goals and conceding just 20 with goal difference of 40.

Players Used

Kitara XI: Jamil Kiyimba (GK), Owachgiu Maxwell, Dudu Ramathan, Jasper Aheebwa, Erick Muber, George Ssenkaba, Ronald Kayondo, Paul Mucureezi, Farouk Katongole, Moses Sseruyidde, Paddy Muhumuza.

SUBS: Farouk Yawe (GK), Kisaakye John, David Kasaija, Bwambale Lazaro, Clinton Kamugisha, Charles Kyomuhendo, Edson Agondeze.

Kaaro Karungi XI: Muhindo Derrick (GK), Kibuuka Vincent, Magemba Ashraf, Mayindi Fredrick, Musindo Siraj, Kibumba Edrisa, Ezama Yusuf, Nsereko Muhammad, Kawawa Samuel, Oketcho Paskali.

SUBS: Wante Gordon, Mawako Goefrey, Wasswa Rogers, Kayongo Wyclif, Kareem Mulindwa, Hassan Kato.

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *