Girls Schools Cricket Week: Masaka SS Seek Maiden Title

Girl’s Schools Cricket Week 2023 – Soroti

Group A – Olila HS, Iganga SSS, Mt Rwenzori GS, St John’s SSS, Light SSS, Ndejje SSS, Gulu HS

Group B – Jinja SSS, Lord’s Meade VC, Kilembe SSS, St Mary’s GS Madera, Victoria HS, Masaka SSS

One of the schools that can be labeled as the pioneers of women’s cricket in Uganda is Masaka Senior Secondary School.

Known as MASESCO, the school’s team has competed in the National Girls Schools Cricket Week since the early 2000s when this tournament was brought to birth.

But while that is the case, this giant from south western Uganda has never tasted success in this competition. The only time they came close to winning it was in 2017 when they lost to record winners Jinja SS at the finals that were held in Lugogo.

As they head into their opening game of this year’s edition on Sunday, the team’s head coach Yusuf Nanga feels positive about their chances of making history.

“We are not under any pressure to win it. We actually go in as underdogs which I think plays to our favour, but the girls are eager to play and ready to showcase their talent. They are hyped.” Nanga, an experienced coach, who is also the head coach of the Aziz Damani female team in the National Women’s League told The SportsNation.

Also Read – National Girls Schools Cricket Week Moves To Soroti

Nanga feels confident about his side, but insists every team is capable of coming out as Champions.

“I don’t think there’s an outright winner. These teams were the best from their respective regions meaning any is capable of winning it. You can’t take anything for granted.”

The team that will definitely fancy their chances of winning it is Jinja SS. Coached by Habib Mugalula, the eastern giants have won this tournament a record eight times, that’s four more than the next school, Gayaza High.

But they have not lifted it since 2018. Olila High has been on the roll, winning the previous two editions (2019 and 2022). This tournament was not held in 2020 and 2021 due to COVID-19. Like Jinja SS, Olila go into the tournament as favourites.

The inaugural winners Gayaza will not take part in this edition after pulling out at the very last moment.

Previous Winners

2001: Gayaza HS
2002: Gayaza HS
2003: City HS
2004: City HS
2005: Gayaza HS
2006: City HS
2007: Not Held
2008: Jinja SS
2009: Not Held
2010: Jinja SS
2011: Gayaza HS
2012: Jinja SS
2013: Jinja SS
2014: Jinja SS
2015: Kololo SS
2016: Jinja SS
2017: Jinja SS
2018: Jinja SS
2019: Olila HS
2020: Not Held
2021: Not Held
2022: Olila HS

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *