DanceSport: NCS Flags off the Dance Cranes to Rabat for the Africa Breaking Championships

The National Council of Sports (NCS) flagged off six athletes to the WDSF Africa Breaking Championship to be held in Rabat Morocco from the 12th to the 13th May.

The flag off took place at the DanceSport head offices in Mengo on Monday 8th March as the team departed in the wee hours via Kenya where they will connect to Paris in France before touching base in Morocco.

NCS extended a 62M support to the Dance Cranes ahead of their journey to Rabat Morocco.

The Africa Breaking Championship double as the Olympic Qualifiers for the 2024 Olympic games in Paris, France.

The Uganda Dance Sport Federation General Secretary Barnabas Ssebuyungo remains positive on the Africa Breaking Championship as he targets to secure more Olympic slots.

“We are heading to the continental cup of Africa and we prepared as we very well know that the winner from the Championship will have a direct slot to the Paris Olympic games in 2024.”

“We are taking a team of six athletes who are well prepared after a successful training camp held at London college in Maya. As a federation we are taking all the necessary chances to represent the country in every qualifying round as you very well know that we are the number one leading nation in Africa.”

“This time round we are only taking boys to the continental Championship as the girls series will be held in Porto in the month of August. We have alot of focus on the boys a we have 16 slots in the Olympics with five of the lots going direct to the continental winners with the other one slot directly allocated to the hosts France.”

“We have a better chance of taking more athletes as we shall fight for the remaining nine slots in the continental qualifying Championships.”

The DanceSport Federation General Secretary will lead the Ugandan delegation to Rabat Morocco which will also be graced with a Ugandan Judge Mark Kaweesi.

Here is the full list of the travelling contingent

Barnabas Ssebuyungo – Head of Delegation


Ronald Ndawula (Bboy Ndawula)

Samuel Ziraye (Bboy Saman)

Steven Opio (Bboy Pencil)

Faruk Luleti (Bboy Skoolboy Faruk)

Frank Kimuli (Bboy Jogo).

Mark Kaweesi – Judge

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *