Cricket: Uganda to host ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers

Having successfully held the second round of the second round of the Challenge League B tournament, Uganda Cricket Association has yet again been rewarded with another international tournament as they have been selected to host the  2024 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifier.

The tournament slated to run from 7th to 18th December as the eight nations will be in contention to for the top two slots who will qualify to represent Africa at the global qualifiers.

The eight teams will have Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Tanzania, Nigeria, Namibia, and hosts Uganda as well as two teams from the Division 2 Qualifiers in that will be played in Botswana in October.

The Uganda Cricket Association operations manager Joshua Mwanja shared his excitement on being selected as the hosts of the Africa qualifiers to the 2024 Women’s T20 World Cup.

“We are excited to host the T20 Women’s Qualifiers; this shows the faith that ICC has in our capacity to host an event of this magnitude. The work for us starts immediately to prepare the grounds and also ensure we get local partners to come on board and support us.”

“Last year we did well hosting the Challenge B tournament therefore we commit to giving local cricket fans a good

experience this time around” Joshua Mwanja Operations Manager of Uganda Cricket


Uganda’s last participation in the Global qualifiers came five years ago as they participated in the qualified held in Netherlands in 2018 after winning the Africa regional Qualifiers held in Namibia in 2017.

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *