Bright Stars Ease Past 10-man Busoga

Wednesday, May 3
Bright Stars 2-0 Busoga United

Bright Stars got a deserved 2-0 victory over relegation threatened Busoga United in the Uganda Premier League early kick-off game at Kavumba Recreation Ground.

Second half goals from Fiat Cleophas and Noordin Bunjo inspired Bright Stars to victory.

Busoga United finished the match with a numerical disadvantage after defender Benon Tahomera was sent off in the added minutes of second half.

The win is Asaph Mwebaze side’ first since a 1-0 triumph at Onduparaka in April after two consecutive draws.

For Busoga United, the defeat sinks them closer to the red zone.

They are just four points below 14-placed Blacks Power who have a game in hand.

The game was dominated by Bright Stars in the first stanza.

And it was Goalkeeper Oyo Delton’s brilliancy that kept Busoga United in the game for long.

He was spot on to stop Emmanuel Loki freekick after he had earlier denied the South Sudan international from open play.

The Custodian also denied Ibrahim Kasinde, Noordin Bunjo and Samuel Ssenyonjo.

Five minutes into the second half, Oyo was finally beaten by Cleophas who headed home from Warren Buule cut back header from Noordin Bunjo corner kick.

Bunjo doubled the host’s lead in the 70th minute after he started the move and found Ibrahim Kasinde who returned a cut back pass to place the ball at the far post.

The visitors woke up very late after going two goals down, Laban Tibiita, Bashamu Mugwa and Rashid Mpata all came close to finding a consolation.

Tahomera was shown a send yellow card in the 91st minute following a foul on Kiggundu.

Bright Stars eighth win of the season puts them in the 9th position with 32 points after 24 matches while Busoga United are 13th with 23 points in 24 matches.

What Next
Bright Stars will welcome Vipers at Kavumba Recreation Ground on Tuesday 9th while Busoga United host Wakiso Giants at Kakindu stadium on Saturday 13th.


Bright Stars XI: Hassan Matovu (GK), Odongo Jonathan, Omony Denis Kaka, Andrew Kyambadde, Warren Buule, Fiat Cleophas Alex Mandera, Noordin Bunjo, Kasinde Ibrahim, Loki Emmanuel, Samuel Ssenyonjo.

Busoga United XI: Oyo Delton, Hassan Kintu, Thomas Ochungu, Benon Tahomera, Isaac Isinde, Charles Sunday Mulanda, Nicholas Mwere, Laban Tibiita, Peter Onzima, Herbert Onyango, Bashamu Mugwa.

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *