Blacks Power Deny 10-man URA in Lira

Wednesday, May 3
*Bright Stars 2-0 Busoga United
*Maroons 1-0 SC Villa
*Arua Hill 4-1 Express
*Blacks Power 1-1 URA FC

Blacks Power denied URA maximum points following a 1-all draw in a league game held at Aki bua stadium on wednesday.

Dickens Okwir levelled matters before half time to cancel out Alfred Leku’s goal that had earlier put URA ahead.

URA finished the game with a man down after their defender Benjamin Nyakoojo was shown red in the second half.

It was another vital point for Blacks Power, who are fighting to save their season. They now moved to 20 points but remained second from the bottom.

For URA, the draw denied them a chance to return to winning ways in the league.

On wednesday, the visitors, URA earned a dream start when Leku collected from Begisa’s well delivered cross to put his side ahead in the 11th minute.

But despite conceding first, Blacks Power kept on pushing and it paid off in the 24th minute through Okwir, who headed in home to level matters.

Before the break, both sides had a share of chances on the day.

Alfred Leku and Nicholas Kabonge were denied on different occasions while Vitalis Tabu and Okwir all saw their efforts kept out by URA goalkeeper Nafian Alionzi.

After the break, URA were handed a blow after their defender Nyakoojo was sent off for a second bookable offence following a foul on goal scorer Okwir.

That limited URA chances of pushing forward after going a man down.

And in the closing stages, there was literally nothing from both ends, given the heavy down pour that hindered the easy flow of the ball in the second half.

The draw saw URA drop to the 6th position with 35 points and they will need to rise up in the upcoming fixtures.

For Blacks Power, they will feel proud for picking up another point in their quest to beat up relegation.

Team Lineups
Blacks Power -Kenneth Lukyamuzi (GK), Simon Misaki Opio, Ivan Okello, John Omagor, Vitalis Tabu, Franco Onen, Michael Siwu, John Paul Acire, Robert Eseru, Joel Male, Jackson Wabuleta.

URA FC – Nafian Alionzi GK, Begisa Penza, Hudu Mulikyi, Najib Fesali, Nicholas Kabonge, Joshua Lubwama, Alfred Leku, Saidi Kyeyune, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Dada Ibrahim, Ssenjobe Eric

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *