NEC Beat Booma to Keep Pressure on Leaders Kitara

Thursday, April 21
*Mbarara City 1-0 Luweero United
*NEC 2-0 Booma FC
*Kyetume 1-2 Kitara
*Lugazi FC 3-1 Jinja North United
*Ndejje University 1-0 Soroti City
*Kataka 1-1 Northern Gateway

NEC FC picked a deserved 2-0 win over Booma FC in a FUFA Big League game held at Bugolobi on Thursday.

Goals from Richard Ajuna and Tonny Kiberu ensured that the Bugolobi based side bagged maximum points on the day.

The win, 15th for NEC saw them pick their third consecutive win in a row. They now moved to 50 points and are still a just point below leaders Kitara.

For Booma, it was another poor outing for them as they suffered their 8th defeat in the season.

On Thursday, playing at home, NEC FC dorminated from the word go as the visitors sat deep.

And it wasn’t a surprise when they broke the deadlock in the 16th minute through left back Ajuna and his goal was the difference at halftime.

After the break, Kiberu, who has been brilliant in the past games added the second to double his side’s lead.

And with two goals ahead, NEC continued to dorminate and could have won with a bigger margin.

Their Captain Marvin Kavuma and Julius Walugembe came close but were wasteful on different occasions.

For the hosts, their star man Denis Omedi, who is the leading goal scorer was pickpocketed throughout the day to sum up a poor outing for the Masindi based side.

Victory on the day ensured that NEC brightened their promotional chances with only four games to go. They are now on 50 points in the second position and will need the same energy as they target top flight football on their first time of asking.

For Booma, they will be hoping to bounce back in the coming fixtures. They stayed fifth with 36 points after 26 games so far.

Team Lineups

NEC FC- Jeans Wokorach GK, Marvin Kavuma, Richard Ajuna, Julius Kazibwe, Shamir Kimwero, Kizza Angello, Innocent Asiimwe, Gideon Odongo, Gavin Mabutu, Julius Walugembe, Tonny David Kiberu

Booma FC- Austine Opoka Gk, Denis Omedi, Douglas Kizza, Jonathan Muteesa, Richard Enjama, Arnold Sserunjogi, Emmanuel Wabulo, Moses Odora, Swadick Collensis, John Ssempijja

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *