AfricaFootballYouth Football

Uganda Hippos squad confirmed for AFCON qualifiers duty

The Uganda Hippos head coach Jackson Mayanja has confirmed a 24-man squad for the U20 AFCON qualifiers tournament in Sudan from the 28th October to 11th November.

The Hippos squad department the country aboard Ethiopians airlines in the wee hours of Wednesday and they will open up their tittle defence against rivals Tanzania on the 29th October.

The U20 team that won the regional qualifiers in 2020 has seen a lot of changes with only three returnees from that winning squad.

Isma Mugulusi, Wabyoona Faisal and Goalkeeper Ssenyondwa Denis were part of the squad that won the trophy in 2020 and went to lose the AFCON tournament in the finals against Ghana.

Here is the full squad

Goalkeepers – Abdu Magada (Gaddafi), Kamya Shamulan (Bright Stars), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (URA FC)

Defenders – Opiru Justine (URA FC), Ibrahim Juma (FC Leganes), Samson Kasozi (UPDF FC), Ronald Madoi (Wakiso Giants), Mukisa Simon (UPDF), Ssemayange Simon Kato (Bright Stars), Lukwago Haruna (KCCA FC), Rogers Torach (Vipers SC)

Midfielders – Allan Kiggundu (BUL FC), Katongole Frank (St Mary’s Kitende), Mugulusi Isma (Makedonikos, Greece), Nyanzi Marvin (Wakiso Giants), Wabyoona Faisal (KCCA), Thomas Kakaire (Mbarara City), Bugembe Issa (Bright Stars), Titus Ssematimba (Wakiso Giants)

Forwards – Umar Lutalo (SC Villa), Muhammad Nsereko (SC Villa), Kasinde Ibrahim (Bright Stars), Kyeyune Abbas (UPDF FC), Mugisha Rogers (UPDF)

Team Officials

Hamid Juma (Leader of Delegation)

Mayanja Jackson (Head Coach)

Simeon Masaba (Assistant coach)

Kiberu Mubarak-Goalkeeping coach

Mutyaba Bashir-Team manager 

Gumisiriza Michael-Team Doctor

Ronald Lusulire-Team Media Officer

Bumpemje Frank- Kitsman

Oryem Jolly Joe Innocent- Delegate (Northern Region FA)

What's your reaction?

Related Posts

1 of 201

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *